Our People

The Very Reverend Canon Allan Maclean, sometime Provost of Oban Cathedral
The Very Reverend Canon Allan Maclean, sometime Provost of Oban Cathedral. Instituted to St Vincent’s on 22nd January 2015.



Canon Allan Maclean

Email: Rector@stvincentschapel.org.uk

Telephone: 0131-225 8609

Canon Maclean retires on 22 October 2020








The Reverend Dr Michael Hull (also Director of Studies in the Scottish Episcopal Institute) Telephone: 07538 196415









The Reverend William Mounsey
The Reverend Fr William L. F. Mounsey  (also Chaplain to The Royal Air Forces Association and Interim Pastor in the Diocese in Europe)












St Vincent’s participates in training for ministry. Canon Allan Maclean and the Hon Barnaby Miln are Field Education Supervisors for the Scottish Episcopal Institute.  The Reverend Oliver Brewer-Lennon, whilst  a third year ordinand, was on placement at St Vincent’s from Epiphany to Easter 2016. He is now a Canon and Vice Provost of St Mary’s Cathedral, Glasgow. Michael Johns-Perring was involved in the life of St Vincent’s before going up to Westcott House, Cambridge in September 2016, and is now a curate in the Diocese of Southwark. Our Evening Organist, William D Watt, was a Church of Scotland ordinand whilst Niccolò Aliano, Assistant Sacristan, is a Scottish Episcopal ordinand.



Les Shankland, Director of Music
Les Shankland Director of Music, Sunday Morning Organist and Director of Coro Vincenzo, our occasional choir.









William D Watt, organist
William D Watt Sunday Evening Organist









Canon Allan Maclean, Rector and Chairman of the Vestry


Dr Andrew Mason


Andy Milner, Locum Treasurer, Helping Hands Co-ordinator and Diocesan Synod Lay Representative


Angela Wilson


Augusta Maclean, Artist in Residence


The Hon Barnaby Miln, Property Convener and Webmaster. General Synod member


Bridget Campbell, Finance Committee


Christina Paulson-Ellis, Protection of Vulnerable Groups


Christopher Hartley OSC Sacristan


James Holloway CBE Alternate Lay Representative


Dr Oliver Thomas, Charities


Richard Inglis, Vestry Secretary


Ruth Stark MBE, Music Committee


Suja Kurien-Hartley


Property Committee of the Vestry: The Hon Barnaby Miln (Property Convener), The Rector, Christopher Hartley.

Music Committee of the Vestry: Ruth Stark (Convener), The Rector, The Hon Barnaby Miln.

Finance Committee of the Vestry: Bridget Campbell, Christina Paulson-Ellis, Dr Oliver Thomas.

Building Transfer Committee of the Vestry: The Rector (Convener), Bridget Campbell, James Holloway, The Hon Barnaby Miln (Property Convener).

Elected Vestry members usually serve for a term of three years and may serve for a maximum of two consecutive terms.

THE VESTRY is a committee of members elected to administer the temporal affairs of a church or parish. Our vestry supports the life and activities of St Vincent’s, has responsibility for the general control and management of the administration of the business matters of the congregation. We enjoy the use of the St Vincent’s building under the agreement we have with Commandery of Lochore of the Military and Hospitaller Order of St Lazarus, currently under review. For the purposes of charity law, members of the Vestry are the Charity Trustees of the church.

Our constitution requires that at the Annual General Meeting members of the congregation should elect up to ten members to act as members of the Vestry. There may be vacancies available if you are interested; have a word with the Rector, Canon Allan Maclean.


The Rector, Andrew Milner and the Hon Barnaby Miln are members of the Diocesan Synod of the Diocese of Edinburgh. James Holloway is the Alternate Member.


The Hon Barnaby Miln is a member of the General Synod of the Scottish Episcopal Church. He was elected in 2016 for four years, and re-elected in 2020, as the Lay Representative of the Edinburgh Forth Area Council. This  is composed of these congregations: Holy Cross, Davidson’s Mains, Edinburgh EH4 5BS; St David of Scotland, Royston Mains Place, Edinburgh EH5 1LH; St Ninian’s, 40 Comely Bank, Edinburgh EH4 1AG;  St Paul’s & St George’s, 10 Broughton Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RH;  St Philip’s & St James’, 57B Inverleith Row, Edinburgh EH5 5PX;   St Vincent’sSt James the Less, John’s Place, Leith EH6 7EL; St Mary of Mount Carmel, Hopetoun Road, South Queensferry EH30 9RB.


Weekly rotas are posted on the vestibule notice board. Help is always needed to read the Epistle and Intercessions, to welcome and hand out books and to take the Collection. If you think you could offer your services, please add your name to the appropriate day or speak to Andy Milner

If you can help with hospitality please contact Angela Wilson or Augusta Maclean

Jenny Stewart, flower arranging co-ordinator

If you want to help with flower arranging please contact Jenny Stewart

Cleaning: Anne Maclean

Sacristan: Christopher Hartley

Assistant Sacristan: Niccolò Aliano

Garden: Christopher Hartley

Magazine Editor: David McDowell

Protecting Vulnerable Groups: Christina Paulson-Ellis

Property Convener: The Hon Barnaby Miln

This website: The Hon Barnaby Miln who welcomes photographs (by email) of the living, lively St Vincent’s for this website.

GENERAL ENQUIRIES: Contact@stvincentschapel.org.uk



The Reverend Professor Gordon Graham FRSE, Director of the Edinburgh Sacred Arts Foundation








Dr Harry Whalley Composer in Residence at St Vincent’s (also Senior Lecturer in Performing Arts at the University for the Creative Arts)




The Edinburgh Quartet resident at St Vincent’s since October 2014.


Augusta Maclean Artist in Residence






Sacristan Christopher Hartley OSC (left) with Property Convener Barnaby Miln in June 2016


Vestry member, James Holloway presents flowers, speaking in Italian, to Mrs Eleonora Hull.
Vestry member, James Holloway presents flowers to Mrs Eleonora Hull, wife of our Assistant Priest, the Reverend Dr Mike Hull following his licensing to St Vincent’s in June 2015.


Susan Paul reads from the 4th Chapter of the Epistle to the Ephesians.
Mrs Susan Paul reads from the 4th Chapter of the Epistle to the Ephesians.





Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!